Fostering Design and Automation of
Electronic and Embedded Systems

CEDA Newsletter Subscribe

Follow  facebook logo twitter button logo v2 by pixxiepaynee d5sog0x    Share  Affiliate with CEDA

IEEE Council on EDA to Recognize David Atienza and Zhuo Li with 2013 Early Career Awards
Honored For Creative and Substantial Contributions to Electronic Design Automation  

AUSTIN, TX - September 9, 2013 - David Atienza, Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the Embedded Systems Laboratory at EPFL, and Zhuo Li, Research Staff Member in IBM Austin Research Laboratory, have been selected by the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) to each receive this year’s Early Career Award for contributions in the area of electronic design automation in the early stages of their careers. The achievement awards will be presented during the opening session of the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD) on November 18, 2013, at the Hilton Hotel in San Jose.

Prof. Atienza is being recognized for sustained and outstanding contributions to design methods and tools for multi-processor systems-on-chip (MPSoC), particularly for work on thermal-aware design, low-power architectures and on-chip interconnects synthesis. Dr. Li is being recognized for essential and outstanding contributions to algorithms, methodologies, and software for interconnect optimization, physical synthesis, parasitic extraction, testing, and simulation.  “Both Professor Atienza and Dr. Li have made important contributions to EDA and CEDA is pleased to be able to recognize both of them,” notes Dr. David Yeh, director of Integrated Circuit and Systems Sciences at Semiconductor Research Corporation and chair of CEDA’s Awards Committee.

David Atienza received his MSc and PhD degrees in Computer Science and Engineering from Complutense University of Madrid (UCM), Spain, and Inter-University Micro-Electronics Center (IMEC), Belgium, in 2001 and 2005, respectively. Currently, he is Assistant Professor of EE and Director of ESL at EPFL, Switzerland. His research interests focus on system-level design methodologies for low-power embedded systems and high-performance Systems-on-Chip (SoC), including new thermal-aware design and management for 2D and 3D Multi-Processor SoCs computing systems, design methods and architectures for wireless body sensor networks, dynamic memory management and interconnection hierarchy optimizations. In these fields, he is co-author of more than 180 publications in prestigious journals and international conferences, several book chapters and five U.S. patents. He received the ACM SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award in 2012 and a Faculty Award from Sun Labs-Oracle in 2011. He has received the Best Paper Award at the VLSI-SoC 2009 and CST-HPCS 2012 Conference, and six Best Paper Award Nominations at the DAC 2013, DATE 2013, WEHA-HPCS 2010, ICCAD 2006 and DAC 2004 conferences. He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Trans. on CAD (in the area of System-Level Design), IEEE Design & Test of Computers, and Elsevier Integration: The VLSI Journal; he also serves as technical program committee member in the major EDA conferences (DATE, DAC, ICCAD, ASP-DAC, ESWeek, etc). He is an elected member of the Executive Committee of the IEEE Council of Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) since 2008 and was the GOLD member of the Board of Governors of IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (CASS) from 2010 to 2012. 

Zhuo Li received the B.S. and M.S. degree in electrical engineering from Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'ian, China, in 1998 and 2001, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree in computer engineering from Texas A&M University, College Station, in 2005. He was one of the co-founders of Pextra Corp, which was a startup specializing in parasitic extraction and acquired by Mentor Graphics Corp. in 2009. Dr. Li is currently a Research Staff Member in IBM Austin Research Laboratory. He has received several IBM technical/invention awards including five IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Awards, one IBM Outstanding Contributor Award, and filed 42 patents with 20 issued. He has published over 60 conference and journal papers, and has received the Best Paper Award at ASPDAC 2007, the IEEE Circuits and System Society Outstanding Young Author Award at DAC 2007, and three Best Paper Award Nominations at ISPD 2012, ICCAD 2008 and ISQED 2008. He received the Technical Leadership Award from ACM SIGDA in 2011 for organizing power grid simulation contest, SRC Mahboob Khan Outstanding Industry Liaison/Associate Award in 2012, DAC Service Award in 2013, and IEEE 2012 Region 5 Outstanding Individual Member Achievement Award in 2013. He has been serving as committee members for various conferences in EDA area, such as DAC/ICCAD/SLIP. He was the Guest Editor of VLSI Design Journal Special Issue “CAD for Gigascale SoC Design and Verification Solutions”. He was the Contest Chair of 2011 and 2012 TAU Power Grid Simulation Contest and is the Chair of 2013 CAD Contest at ICCAD. He was the 50th DAC Local Program Committee Chair. He is currently the secretary of IEEE Central Texas Section. Recently, the Section won 2012 IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Large Section Award. He is the Chair of IEEE CAS/SSC Joint Society Chapter of the Central Texas Section. Recently, the chapter won IEEE Circuits and Systems Society 2011 Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award and IEEE Solid State Circuits Society 2011 Outstanding Chapter Award. He is also the founding Chair of IEEE CEDA Chapter of the Central Texas Section. He is an IEEE Senior Member. His research interests include physical synthesis, parasitic extraction, circuit modeling and simulation, and design and analysis of general large-scale algorithms.

About the Early Career Award 
CEDA’s Early Career Award honors individuals who have made innovative and substantial technical contributions to electronic design automation (EDA) in the early stages of his or her careers. Contributions are evaluated according to the individual’s technical merit and creativity in performing research, with consideration of his or her published record and the references accompanying the nomination. The award is equally available to contributors from academic and industrial institutions. For more information, visit:

About the IEEE Council on EDA 
The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid State Circuits). The Council sponsors or co-sponsors over a dozen key EDA conferences and publishes IEEE Transactions on CAD and IEEE Embedded Systems Letters. CEDA is increasingly involved in recognizing its leaders via the A. Richard Newton Award, Early Career Award and Phil Kaufmann Award. The Council welcomes new volunteers and local chapters. For more information, visit:


All trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.