Fostering Design and Automation of
Electronic and Embedded Systems

CEDA Newsletter Subscribe

Follow  facebook logo twitter button logo v2 by pixxiepaynee d5sog0x    Share  Affiliate with CEDA

The A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation is jointly sponsored by the IEEE Council on EDA and the ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation. The Award honors a person or persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least ten years before the presentation of the award.

The Award honors A. Richard Newton, a luminary in the design automation area in academia and industry, faculty contributor and adviser to many of the leaders in the field, company founder, and dean of engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, who died in 2007. Professor Newton embodied the idea of technical impact which this award seeks to recognize.

2016 Newton

2016 A. Richard Newton Award Recipients at DAC 2016

Award Recipients

2016 Title: "First-Order Incremental Block-Based Statistical Timing Analysis"
Authors: Chandu Visweswariah, Kaushik Ravindran, Kerim Kalafala, Steven G. Walker, and Sambasivan Narayan
Paper Venue: Proc. of the 41st Design Automation Conference, pp. 331 – 336, June 2004.
2015 Title: "Silicon Physical Random Functions"
Authors: Blaise Gassend, Dwaine Clarke, Marten van Dijk, and Srinivas Devadas
Paper Venue: Proc. of the 9th ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security, 2002.
2014 Title: “X-Compact: An Efficient Response Compaction Technique for Test Cost Reduction"
Authors: Subhasish Mitra and Kee Sup Kim
Paper Venue: IEEE International Test Conference, October 2002.
2013 Title: “FastCap: a multipole accelerated 3-D capacitance extraction program"
Authors: Keith Nabors and Jacob White
Paper Venue: IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems, November 1991.
2012 Title: PRIMA: Passive Reduced-Order Interconnect Macromodeling Algorithm
Authors: Altan Odabasioglu, Mustafa Celik, Larry Pileggi
Paper Venue: IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems Aug 1998
Citation: For advancing the theory and implementation of model order reduction for efficient circuit analysis via dominant pole/zero methods.
2011 Title: FlowMap: An Optimal Technology Mapping Algorithm for Delay Optimization in Lookup-Table Based FPGA Designs
Authors: Jason Cong, Eugene Ding
Paper Venue: IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design Jan 1994
Citation: For pioneering work on technology mapping for FPGA (field-programmable gate array) that has made a significant impact on the FPGA research community and industry.
2010 Title: Graph-based algorithms for Boolean function manipulation
Authors: Randal Bryant
Paper Venue: IEEE Transactions on Computers Aug 1986
Citation: For developing Reduced Ordered Binary Decision Diagrams forming the foundation for symbolic manipulation of logic designs with broad impacts in academia and industry.
2009 Title: MIS: A Multiple-Level Logic Optimizations System
Authors: Robert K. Brayton, Richard Rudell, Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, Albert R. Wang
Paper Venue: IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design Nov 1997
Citation: For seminal contributions to multilevel logic optimization impacting research, education, and industrial practice.


The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2017 year is February 1, 2017.


The award shall be based on the impact of the paper in the field of electronic design automation published ten years or more before the year the award is presented. The paper must have passed through a peer-review process before publication, be an archived conference or journal publication available from or published by either ACM or IEEE, and be a seminal paper where an original idea was first described. Follow-up papers and extended descriptions of the work may be cited in the nomination, but the award is given for the initial original contribution.

Submission Process

The nomination can be made by anyone who is familiar with the individual’s or group’s published work. Please submit the nomination by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The supporting material for nomination should include:

  • Name, affiliation, and contact information of nominating individual
  • The nominated paper and authors to be honored, including their biographical information, professional activities, publications, and recognition
  • Proposed citation (which SIGDA and CEDA may adjust)
  • Description of the impact of the paper over at least a ten-year period

More precisely, at the minimum, the nomination letter should address the following questions:

  • What is the main category of impact for the nominated paper? Choose one of three categories: technical/scientific research impact, industrial/commercial product impact, or broad impact to the EDA community
  • What advancements have been enabled by the ideas presented in the paper? Include evidence of follow-up research as reflected in citations, evidence of usage of the described technology in an industrial setting, or evidence of starting new directions and/or spawning new ideas as appropriate

Download the file in PDF format: Newton Award

About A. Richard Newton

A. Richard Newton, one of the foremost pioneers and leaders of the EDA field, passed away on January 2, 2007, of pancreatic cancer at the age of 55.

A. Richard Newton was professor and dean of the College of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. Newton was educated at the University of Melbourne and received his bachelor’s degree in 1973 and his master’s degree in 1975. In the early 1970’s he began to work on SPICE, a simulation program initially developed by Larry Nagel and Donald Pederson to analyze and design complex electronic circuitry with speed and accuracy. In 1978, Newton earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer sciences from UC Berkeley.

For his research and entrepreneurial contributions to the electronic design automation industry, he was awarded the 2003 Phil Kaufman Award, the highest recognition for contributions to the EDA field. In 2004, he was named a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and in 2006, of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was a member of the Association for Computing Machinery and a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Latest News