

# CEDA Executive Committee Meeting 28 February 2025 | 9:00 AM ET

Attendees: Cristiana Bolchini, Aparna Dey, Abe Elfadel Joerg Henkel, Tsung-Yi Ho, Iris Hui-Ru Jiang, Gi-Joon Nam, L. Miguel Silveira, Qi Zhu, Georges Gielen, Elena-Ioana Vatajelu, Sri Parameswaran, Marina Zapater, Subhasish Mitra, Gi Joon Nam

Staff: Laura Paul, Colleen Brick

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 AM ET. The roll was called and quorum was confirmed.

MOTION: Gi-Joon Nam moves to approve the February 2025 EC meeting agenda. Cristiana Bolchini seconded. Motion passed.

MOTION: Joerg Henkel moves to approve the December 2025 EC meeting minutes. Aparna Dey seconded. Motion passed.

#### 20th Anniversary

#### Video Concept

Georges is consulting with David Atienza and Subhasish Mitra on this. The current plan is to develop a series of 1-hour webinars surrounding the history of CEDA, the evolution of EDA, and other important EDA topics. Neither the webinar subjects nor speaker lists have been finalized, but the EC was invited to send suggestions for both to Georges. Discussions were held regarding inviting a range of speakers, from Young Professional level to Senior-Industry level professionals. These webinars will be made available on the CEDA webpage and YouTube channel and will be stored in CEDA's Google Drive.

ACTION ITEM: Laura to investigate ILN "Discover Only" option for CEDA.

ACTION ITEM: EC to send topic and speaker suggestions to Georges.

ACTION ITEM: Aparna and Georges to discuss available industry speakers

ACTION ITEM: Georges to create a shared document of webinar speakers and topic ideas to share with EC.

# "Best of" Webpage

Laura and Ioana recently met about this activity. The current plan includes only the five CEDA flagship conferences. The goal is to increase CEDA's visibility, so limiting the awards mentioned on this webpage to only CEDA-specific awards would provide the most opportunity for CEDA publicity. By including other conference awards, viewers may become overwhelmed with information.

Ioana will add text to the DATE awards sections about the open access availability after two years; however, all papers on the new webpage will link to the IEEE Xplore paper link for consistency.

Once Ioana provides the complete proposal, Laura will work with the CCLLC Digital Solutions team to develop this project.

## Logo Design

Laura and Miguel are working on this activity. Laura submitted several designs to IEEE for review.





#### **DATE Panel Session**

Attendees will each lunch then move into the session room for the 45-minute session. The name of the session will be CEDA 20th Anniversary: Electronic Design Automation "The Past and the Future." The session information is on the DATE website and the panelists will be added once they are finalized.

Moderator: Georges Gielen

Speakers: David Atienza, Luca Benini, Valeria Bertacco, additional Senior-level speaker TBA

ACTION ITEM: Georges to invite Rolf Ernst as a DATE panelist.

ACTION ITEM: Georges to send Laura final panel list.

ACTION ITEM: Laura to publicize the event once the speaker list is finalized.

ACTION ITEM: Miguel to discuss the recording plans for the panel session with Ian.

#### <u>Design&Test Special Issue</u>

The special issue will cover important past topics in EDA, but also technical areas that have great promise for the future of EDA. Authors who have contributed significantly to CEDA publications and conferences will be invited to contribute. The guest editors will be Joerg Henkel and Miguel Silveira.

ACTION ITEM: EC to submit additional authors or topic ideas to Joerg.

Proposed schedule:

Submission deadline: Mid-May Review process: Mid May to June Final manuscript due: Mid-July

Publication: Fall

ACTION ITEM: Joerg to invite Giovanni de Micheli and Jason Cong as authors for the special issue.

#### **Administrative Updates**

## Upcoming Award Deadlines

28 February

- Chapter of the Year Award
- A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award
- TCAD Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award

ACTION ITEM: Laura to send current nominations list to EC for Newton and Pederson awards.

## 15 April

• Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award

#### 30 May

- Phil Kaufman Award
- Phil Kaufman Hall of Fame





ACTION ITEM: Miguel to discuss with ESDA the change to the Kaufman nomination deadline and the scheduling of the 2025 award presentation.

# DATE RSVPs

The deadline to RSVP is 28 February 2025.

## **CCLLC Operations Support**

Colleen Brick will assume CEDA operational support duties while Laura is on leave.

MOTION: Georges Gielen moves to adjourn the meeting. Subhasish Mitra seconded. Motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:52 AM ET.

The next meeting will be held on Sunday, 30 March 2025, at DATE 2025.

