

# CEDA Executive Committee Meeting (Virtual) 25 April 2025 | 9:00 AM EST

**Attendees:** Abe Elfadel, Tsung-Yi Ho, Iris Hui-Ru Jiang, L. Miguel Silveira, Georges Gielen, Elena-Ioana Vatajelu, Gi-Joon Nam, Ian O'Connor, Jeorg Henkel, Deming Chen, Dennis Brophy

Staff: Colleen Brick, Samantha Schafer

#### 1. Welcome and Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 AM EST. The roll call was conducted and quorum was confirmed.

### 2. Approval of Agenda

The proposed agenda for the April 2025 Executive Committee (EC) Meeting was brought forward.

**MOTION:** L. Miguel Silveira moved to approve the April 2025 Executive Committee meeting agenda. Georges Gielen seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 3. Approval of March 2025 Meeting Minutes

The minutes from the March 2025 EC Meeting were presented for approval.

**MOTION:** L. Miguel Silveira moved to approve the March 2025 Executive Committee meeting minutes. Ian O'Connor seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 4. Update on Video Interviews – Sri Parameswaran

Miguel presented an update on Sri's behalf about the video interviews proposed by Sri at the March EC meeting. Miguel presented an overview of the discussions that happened at the March EC meeting, and noted that no major changes have happened in the last month. Sri has formed a group of peers to help brainstorm potential interviewees, as well as enlisted the help of a video editor. Georges shared that David Atienza, Editor-in-Chief of TCAD, is on the list of potential interviewees.

Discussion was held about how the videos would be formatted on the website and publicized, such as creating a relationship with Design&Test media. Joerg offered to be on the committee to help coordinate the videos.

**ACTION ITEM:** L. Miguel Silveira will email Sri Parameswaran to recommend Joerg Henkel to assist with organization of the Publicity Committee's video project.

#### 5. 2025 Chapter of the Year – Ian O'Connor

Ian shared an update on the Chapter of the Year Award. Ian opened his update with an overview of the award, as this is the first year the award will be given. The prize for the award is \$1000 USD, a certificate, and funds to attend a CEDA-sponsored award ceremony as authorized by the CEDA President. Ian highlighted that up to two awards may be given each year, and each





recipient may receive the full honorarium. The committee received four nominations in total; for which two are CEDA Chapters (Bangalore and Taipei) and two are Student Branches (Bangalore Institute of Technology and Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore). The group reviewed the eligibility criteria. A question was raised as to whether student chapters are eligible under these requirements. Ian mentioned that Samantha has reached out to IEEE to clarify the eligibility requirements for the award.

Ian noted details of the submissions, highlighting key metrics that were recorded.

Ian had not yet created a committee to review the nominations; however, he proposed that a group composed of himself and two other EC members should form the committee. The group agreed that this would be sufficient for a formal analysis of the nominations. Georges and Deming offered to fill the other two committee spots.

**ACTION ITEM**: Ian O'Connor to form Chapter of the Year Awards Committee with Georges Gielen and Deming Chen. Committee to evaluate candidates' chapters for the award.

#### 6. 20th Anniversary Planning – L. Miguel Silveira

Miguel gave an overview of the DAC Panel Session plans for those who were not at the March EC meeting at DATE. Miguel noted that Subhasish is heading this effort. Miguel shared that they have secured one speaker for this event.

**ACTION ITEM:** L. Miguel Silveira will ask Subhasish Mitra to send the EC Committee a formal update of the Panel plans and progress to date.

There was discussion around how the panel participants may influence event attendance. Miguel offered the idea of broadcasting the panel to an overflow room so more people can watch the event.

Miguel shared an update on the plan for the luncheon. Miguel proposed boxed lunches for the luncheon over a plated meal as this will allow for theater seating rather than rounds, which will allow for greater attendance in the room and allow for more people to receive a meal.

Miguel and Samantha are working together with SmithBucklin to arrange the lunches and event rooms to maximize participation. The Panel will be recorded and potentially broadcasted to a different overflow room.

Miguel continued with a status update on the DAC lanyards. At the previous EC meeting and in email, there was discussion about the lanyard sponsorship. CEDA will be sponsoring all the lanyards at DAC. Samantha is working with SmithBucklin on lanyard procurement. The lanyards will feature the CEDA 20th Anniversary logo.

#### 7. Administrative Updates – Samantha Schafer

Samantha shared the following upcoming deadlines:

• Phil Kaufman Award and Hall of Fame – 30 May (ESDA website)





Samantha reintroduced herself as the administrative point of contact for the CEDA Admin and Conference Catalysts while Laura Paul is away on maternity leave.

## 8. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:05 AM EST.

MOTION: L. Miguel Silveira moved to adjourn the meeting; Georges Gielen seconded. Motion approved.

The next meeting will be held virtually on Friday, 23 May 2025 at 9:00 AM ET.

