

CEDA EC Meeting 15 October 2021 | 10:00 – 11:00 am ET

Attendees: Mohammad Al Faruque, David Atienza, Cristiana Bolchini, Dennis Brophy, Yao-Wen Chang, Agnieszka Dubaj, Luca Fanucci, Georges Gielen, Tsung-Yi Ho, Enrico Macii, Subhasish Mitra, Gi-Joon Nam, Ian O'Connor, L. Miguel Silveira, Mehdi Tahoori, Atushi Takahashi, Ioana Vatajeul, Marina Zapater, Qi Zhu

Staff: Dana Mallett and Amanda Osborn

Yao-Wen called the meeting to order at 10:05 am ET.

Yao-Wen thanked the EC and respective VPs who helped with completing the SCRC responses.

MOTION: It is moved to approve the September 2021 EC meeting minutes as written. Motion passed.

Distinguished Lecturer Nominations Update (Mehdi/Tsung-Yi)

The nomination process was suspended in 2020 due to COVID-19. There were seven (7) nomination packets submitted that included a mix of seniority, gender, field of work, and geographical location; however, it was noted there is still room for improvement in gender diversity. The slides and evaluation spreadsheet were distributed from the DL Committee.

The Distinguished Lecturer Evaluation Committee included Krishnendu Chakrabarty, Ulf Schlichtmann, and Yao-Wen Chang. The DL Committee engaged in multiple rounds of discussions and submitted summary evaluations. It was noted that for future committees, gender diversity needs to be taken into consideration.

A discussion was held on offering an additional term extension to the class of 2019-2020 as they did not get to travel.

Currently, the budget includes eight (8) trips for up to \$2,500 per trip. It was approved to increase to 10 trips for a total for a total of \$10,000 to support five Distinguished Lecturers for 2022-2023.

A discussion was held on the benefits of keep the virtual DL program including that it has a greater geographic reach and number of people that can access the talks. A hybrid program of both in-person and virtual talks could take place.

MOTION: The Distinguished Lecturer Committee moved to approve Abu Sebastian, Sheldon Tan, Mohammad Abdullah Al Faruque, Yiyu Shi, Anupam Chattopadhyay for the 2022-2023 CEDA Distinguished Lecturer Program. Motion passed.

ACTION ITEM: Amanda to send acceptance and rejection letters to the Distinguished Lecturer nominees.





Publications and EiC Appointments (Miguel)

Miguel reviewed the current list of CEDA sponsored and co-sponsored publications. Search committees were formed for Design&Test (D&T) and Transactions on Computer-Aided Design (TCAD) for new Editor-in-Chief. A lack of gender and geographic diversity was recognized in this year's search committees and there is a plan in place to improve future committees. An open call for candidates was held for D&T and TCAD.

TCAD - The Search Committee was comprised of Sri Parameswaran, Joerg Henkel, Sharon Hu, Soonhoi Hu, Yao-Wen Chang and L. Miguel Silveira. Five nominations were received.

MOTION: The Publications Committee, on the recommendation of the TCAD EiC Search Committee, moved to approve David Atienza for the position of Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design (TCAD) for the 2022-2023 term. Motion passed.

D&T – The Search Committee was comprised of Sri Parameswaran, Helmut Graeb, Sachin Sapatnekar, Krishnendu Chakrabarty, Yervant Zorian, Bruce Hecht and L. Miguel Silveira. Three nominations were received.

MOTION: The Publications Committee, on the recommendation of the D&T EiC Search Committee, moved to approve Partha Pratim Pande for the position of Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Design&Test (D&T) for the 2022-2025 term. Motion passed

ESL – It was noted the current ESL EiC, Preeti Ranjan Panda, is doing an excellent job and has focused on improving metrics, introduced innovative features, and is committed to improving gender and geographic diversity in the Editorial Board.

MOTION: The Publications Committee, on the recommendation of ESL EiC Search Committee, moved to reappoint Preeti Ranjan Panda for the position of Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Embedded Systems Letters (ESL) for the 2022-2023 term. Motion passed

Miguel reviewed the three-phase selection process of the Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award. The Selection Committee is recommending two papers for the 2021 award.

MOTION: The Publications Committee moves to approve the following papers for the 2021 IEEE Transactions on CAD Best Paper Award – Donald O. Pederson Award.

Hardware/Software Co-Exploration of Neural Architectures by Weiwen Jiang; Lei Yang; Edwin Hsing-Mean Sha; Qingfeng Zhuge; Shouzhen Gu; Sakyasingha Dasgupta; Yiyu Shi; Jingtong Hu

DREAMPlace: Deep Learning Toolkit-Enabled GPU Acceleration for Modern VLSI Placement by Yibo Lin; Zixuan Jiang; Jiaqi Gu; Wuxi Li; Shounak Dhar; Haoxing Ren; Brucek Khailany; David Z. Pan

Motion Passed.





ACTION ITEM: Amanda to send 2021 TCAD Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award winners the announcement letters on behalf of the Awards Committee.

2022 Budget Initiatives Funding (Cristiana/Gi-Joon)

Gi-Joon sent the 2022 Budget Initiatives funding to the EC. He will send further comments and explanations via email.

Awards Updates (Subhasish/Georges)

The Kuh Award Committee and the Kaufman Award Committees are still in progress.

DAC updates (Gi-Joon/Amanda)

CEDA EC members to send Amanda if you are attending virtual or in-person. Amanda working with SmithBucklin to finalize food and beverage. There are not enough people attending in person to meeting the F&B minimums. The EC/BoG will need to eat lunch at an outside location. Amanda to order plaques for award winners.

Hotel information sent to CEDA EC. Recommending the Intercon and the Marriott.

The next EC Meeting is Friday, November 12 at 10AM ET. Meeting moved due to IEEE November TAB meetings and Thanksgiving holiday.

MOTION: Gi-Joon Nam moved to adjourn the meeting. David Atienza seconded. Motion passed.

