2021 Council on Electronic Design Automation Awards

announcement | Mon, Nov 8th, 2021

CEDA Awards

Congratulations to the 2021 Council on Electronic Design Automation Award Recipients on these remarkable achievements. Thank you for your hard work, dedication, and contributions to the Council and the EDA community!

2021 Fellows 

As it stands today, the IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. 

  • Dmitri Maslov - For contributions to quantum circuit synthesis and optimization, and compiling for quantum computers
  • Yung-Hsiang Lu - For contributions to the energy efficiency of computer systems
  • Gang Qu - For contributions to hardware intellectual property protection and security
  • Mehdi Tahoori - For contributions to resilient nanoscale integrated circuits

Outstanding Service Recognition

CEDA's Outstanding Service Recognition is presented to volunteers for exceptional commitment and service to the EDA community.

  • Yuan Xie - For outstanding service to the EDA community as ICCAD General Chair in 2020
  • Kwang-Ting Tim Cheng - For outstanding service to the EDA community as ASP-DAC General Chair in 2020
  • Huazhong Yang - For outstanding service to the EDA community as ASP-DAC General Chair in 2020
  • Giorgio Di Natale - For outstanding service to the EDA community as DATE General Chair in 2020
  • Tulika Mitra - For outstanding service to the EDA community as ESWeek General Chair in 2020
  • Zhuo Li - For outstanding service to the EDA community as DAC General Chair in 2020

Phil Kaufman 

The Phil Kaufman Award is jointly sponsored by the ESD-Alliance and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation and honors an individual who has had a demonstrable impact on the field of electronic design through contributions in Electronic Design Automation (EDA).

  • TBA

Phil Kaufman Hall of Fame 

Since the first Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design (ESD) was presented in 1994, several outstanding members of our community have been honored with this award, co-sponsored by the ESD Alliance and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA).

A policy set by the IEEE, however, does not allow awards to be given to those who are no longer alive. Therefore, some well-deserving individuals who made significant contributions to the ESD field, but who passed away before their contributions got awarded, are not eligible posthumously for the Phil Kaufman Award.

The ESD Alliance and IEEE CEDA in 2020 created the Phil Kaufman Hall of Fame. This includes all Phil Kaufman awardees as well as selected individuals who are recognized posthumously. All members of the Phil Kaufman Hall of Fame are recognized because they have made significant and noteworthy contributions through creativity, entrepreneurism, and innovation to the electronic system design industry. The inaugural honor for the Phil Kaufman Hall of Fame was announced in June 2021.

  • Jim Hogan 
  • Ed McCluskey

A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award

To honor a person or persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least ten years before the presentation of the award.

William J. McCalla ICCAD Best Paper Award 

To recognize the best paper presented at the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD). The award may not be given in a particular year if at any point in the decision process it is decided that there are no candidates as a truly outstanding paper.

  •  "BOOM-Explorer: RISC-V BOOM Microarchitecture Design Space Exploration Framework" by Chen Bai, Qi Sun, Jianwang Zhai, Yuzhe Ma, Bei Yu, and Martin D.F. Wong (Front-End Award)
  • "Analytical Modeling of Transient Electromigration Stress Based on Boundary Reflections" by Mohammad Abdullah Al Shohel, Vidya A. Chhabria, Nestor Evmorfopoulos, and Sachin Sapatnekar (Back-End Award)

Transactions on Computer-Aided Design Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award  

To recognize the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems.

Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award 

To recognize an individual who has made substantial contributions to the area of Electronic Design Automation in the early stages of his or her career.

  • Zheng Zhang - For contributions towards fundamental stochastic computation methods for circuit simulation and testing and beyond.
  • Jeyavijayan Rajendran - For contributions towards secure and trustworthy integrated circuits.


Awards Program