Phil Kaufman Award Postponed to 2021

announcement | Wed, Nov 11th, 2020

Phil Kaufman Award

The Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic System Design will be on hiatus until September 2021, the Electronic System Design Alliance (ESD Alliance) and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) announced [November 10, 2020].

“Members of the selection committee made the difficult but understandable decision to postpone this year’s award,” remarks Bob Smith, executive director of the ESD Alliance. “The dinner ceremony is central to celebrating the recipient’s contributions to the industry and accomplishments. Hosting an in-person awards dinner in early 2021 is unlikely, which made postponing the 2020 award inevitable.”

Nominations submitted in 2020 will be treated as new nominations for 2021. As always, past nominations (2017 – 2019) will also be considered for 2021. Additional nominations will be solicited in early 2021.

Presented since 1994, the Phil Kaufman Award honors individuals who have had a demonstrable impact on the field of electronic system design through technology innovations, education/mentoring, or business or industry leadership. Its first recipient was Hermann K. Gummel. Since then, recipients include academics, technologists, entrepreneurs, business leaders and investors.

Last year’s recipient was Dr. Mary Jane Irwin, Evan Pugh Professor and A. Robert Noll Chair Emeritus in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Pennsylvania State University.

The Phil Kaufman Award was established as a tribute to Phil Kaufman, the late industry pioneer who turned innovative technologies into commercial businesses that have benefited electronic designers.

News Release