About CEDA

About the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation

The Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) was established to foster design automation of electronic circuits and systems at all levels. The Council’s field of interest spans the theory, implementation, and use of EDA/CAD tools to design integrated electronic circuits and systems. This includes tools that automate all levels of the design, analysis, and verification of hardware and embedded software up to and including complete working systems.

CEDA enables the exchange of technical information by means of publications, conferences, workshops, and volunteer activities.

As an organizational unit (OU) of IEEE, CEDA has seven member societies, namely: Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Electronics Packaging, Microwave Theory & Techniques, and Solid-State Circuits Societies.

To assure grounding in the major technology activities of the electronic design automation field, the Council has Member Technology Organizations from specific conferences, publications, and organizations. These Organizations bring information on the activities and directions of the EDA/CAD field.

As CEDA is an IEEE Technical Council, individuals cannot be members of CEDA itself. However, they can register as CEDA participants and receive newsletters and updates on activities in design automation.

Member Technology Organizations

The Member Technology Organizations shall be those formally admitted to the Council by the Board of Governors in accordance with the Council Constitution. The Member Technology Organizations are:

  • Design Automation Conference (Founding Member)
  • Design Automation and Test in Europe Conference (Joined Nov. 2011)
  • International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (Founding Member)
  • Embedded System Letters (Joined Nov. 2011)
  • Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits & Systems (Founding Member)
  • Design & Test Magazine (Founding Member)
  • Design Technology Council (Joined June 2011)
  • Test Technology Technical Council (Joined Nov. 2011)
  • Design Automation Technical Committee (Joined Nov. 2013)
  • System Validation and Debug Technology Committee (Joined June 2016)
  • The Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems (Joined April 2017)
  • Hardware Security and Trust Technical Committee (Joined July 2020)