IEEE Fellows


  • Yiran Chen, Duke University, for contributions to spintronic memory
  • Zhuo Li, Cadence Design Systems, Inc., for contribution to physical synthesis and modeling of integrated circuits
  • Hidetoshi Onodera, Kyoto University, for contributions to variation-aware design and analysis of integrated circuits
  • Tajana Rosing, University of California, San Diego, for contributions to power and reliability management of systems-on-chip 
  • Sanjit A. Seshia, University of California, Berkeley, for contributions to formal methods for inductive synthesis and algorithmic verification
  • Mark M. Tehranipoor, University of Florida, for contribution to integrated circuits security and trust
  • Jürgen Teich, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen, for contribution to hardware/software co-design for embedded systems


  • Walden C. Rhines, Mentor Graphics Corporation, for leadership and technology innovation in integrated circuit design and automation 
  • Kiyoung Choi, Seoul National University, for contribution to low-power, real-time, and reconfigurable systems
  • Xin Li, Duke University/Duke Kunshan Univ., for contributions to modeling, analysis, and optimization of variability of integrated circuits and systems 
  • Weiping Shi, Texas A&M University, for contributions to modeling and design of VLSI interconnects 
  • Youngsoo Shin, KAIST, Korea, for contributions to design tools for low power, high-speed VLSI circuits and systems
  • Valeria Bertacco, University of Michigan, for contribution to computer-aided verification and reliable system design
  • Luca Carloni, Columbia University, for contributions to system-on-chip design automation and latency-insensitive design
  • Frank Liu, IBM Research, for contributions to design for manufacturability of VLSI circuits
  • Andrei Vladimirescu, Berkeley Wireless Research Center, for contributions to the development and commercial adoption of SPICE circuit simulation


  • David Atienza, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, for contributions to design methods and tools for multiprocessor systems-on-chip
  • Xiaobo Sharon Hu, University of Notre Dame, for contributions to resource management for embedded systems
  • Jiang Hu, Texas A&M University, for contributions to gate, interconnect, and clock network optimization in VLSI circuits
  • Peng Li, Texas A&M University, for contributions to the analysis and modeling of integrated circuits and systems


  • Jörg Henkel, for contributions to hardware/software codesign of embedded computing systems
  • Steven P. Levitan, for contributions to mixed-technology micro-systems education
  • Diana Marculescu, for contributions to design and optimization of energy-aware computing systems
  • Michael Orshansky, for contributions to VLSI design for manufacturability
  • Yuan Xie, for contributions to design automation and architecture of three-dimensional integrated circuits
  • Jason Baumgartner, for contributions to formal hardware verification and its application


  • Helmut Graeb, for contributions to design centering and structural analysis of analog circuits
  • Zhigang (David) Pan, for contributions to design for manufacturability in integrated circuits
  • Mircea Stan, for contributions to power- and temperature-aware design of VLSI circuits 
    and systems
  • Martin Vlach, for  leadership  in  analog  and  mixed-signal hardware description 
    languages and their simulation tools  


Award Recipients

Zhuo Li

2018 Recipient of IEEE Fellows
for contributions to physical synthesis and modeling of integrated circuits

Mark M. Tehranipoor

2018 Recipient of IEEE Fellows
for contributions to integrated circuits security and trust

Yiran Chen

2018 Recipient of IEEE Fellows
for contributions to spintronic memory