A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation

To honor a person or persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least ten years before the presentation of the award.

Historical Background:

A. Richard Newton, one of the foremost pioneers and leaders of the EDA field, passed away on 2 January 2007, of pancreatic cancer at the age of 55.

A. Richard Newton was professor and dean of the College of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. Newton was educated at the University of Melbourne and received his bachelor’s degree in 1973 and his master’s degree in 1975. In the early 1970’s he began to work on SPICE, a simulation program initially developed by Larry Nagel and Donald Pederson to analyze and design complex electronic circuitry with speed and accuracy. In 1978, Newton earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer sciences from UC Berkeley.

For his research and entrepreneurial contributions to the electronic design automation industry, he was awarded the 2003 Phil Kaufman Award, the highest recognition for contributions to the EDA field. In 2004, he was named a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and in 2006, of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was a member of the Association for Computing Machinery and a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

$1,500 and Plaque for each author. The honoraria will be shared by all authors. For groups of more than five awardees, there will be a minimum of $300 honorarium per contributor.
Funded by the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation and ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation.
Presented annually at the Design Automation Conference (DAC).
Basis for Judging:
The impact of the paper which has made an outstanding technical contribution in the scope of electronic design automation through a paper published at least ten years before the award is presented. The award shall be based on the impact of the paper in the field of electronic design automation published ten years or more before the year the award is presented.
Open to authors of a paper in the field of electronic design automation published ten years or more before the award is presented. The paper must have passed through a peer-review process before publication, be an archived conference or journal publication available from or published by either ACM or IEEE, and be a seminal paper where an original idea was first described. Follow-up papers and extended descriptions of the work may be cited in the nomination, but the award is given for the initial original contribution.
Nomination Details:

The deadline for submitting nominations for the award year is 28 February of that same year.

Nomination Form:


Moshe Y. Vardi, and Pierre Wolper

Ricardo Telichevesky, Kenneth S. Kundert, and Jacob K. White

John A. Waicukauski, Eric Lindbloom, Barry K. Rosen, and Vijay S. Iyengar

Luca Benini, and Giovanni De Micheli

Thomas W. Williams, and Edward B. Eichelberger

For seminal contributions to modern VLSI placement optimization research impacting both academia and industrial practices

Hans Eisenmann, and Frank M. Johannes

For seminal contributions to VLSI placement impacting academic and industrial practices

Matthew W. Moskewicz, Conor F. Madigan, Ying Zhao, Lintao Zhang, and Sharad Malik

For seminal contributions to scalable Boolean satisfiability solving including locality-based search and efficient backtracking.

Chandu Visweswariah, Kaushik Ravindran, Kerim Kalafala, Steven G. Walker, and Sambasivan Narayan

Subhasish Mitra, and Kee Sup Kim